Airport Authority

The Evansville Vanderburgh Airport Authority District (EVAAD) is a separate governmental unit, and has a board of directors comprised of five members who serve without compensation. There are three board members who are appointed by the Mayor and two who are appointed by the County Commissioners. The board members’ three year terms are staggered in order to maintain continuity. The Airport Authority’s budget is approved annually by the County Council, and financial statements are audited annually by the state board of accounts.

In addition to the airport, the authority owns and operates Thunderbolt Pass Golf Course, which has since undergone a series of improvements, including improved cart paths and greens, and a newly installed irrigation system and new golf carts.

The Airport Authority also leases several properties around the airport – most are ground leases and include but are not limited to Tri-State Aero, the Berry Plastics Warehouse, Raben Tire, Sheriff Command Post and the Airport Hampton Inn. Additionally, some airport authority property both on the airfield and off is leased for farming.

These other sources of revenue enable the issue of lower rates and charges to the airlines, and in total, the mixed use creates more than 500 jobs on airport authority property. According to the Aviation Association of Indiana’s 2012 Survey, the economic Impact of Evansville Regional Airport is over $900 million annually.

Airport Authority Board of Directors

J.P. Engelbrecht, President – Board appointment 2015
J.P. is the CEO of South Central Communications, Inc., a family-owned holding company, making investments in middle market companies. He attended Xavier University in Cincinnati, OH, where he received a degree in Management. In addition to serving as Vice-President of the airport authority board, he is a Director for Evansville Commerce Bank. J.P. previously has served as chair for the International Planned Music Association and Junior Achievement of Southwestern Indiana. Additionally, J.P. is actively involved in St. Meinrad School of Theology, the Evansville Regional Business Committee and Young Professionals Organization (YPO).

Gretchen Muchnick, Vice President – Board appointment 2016
Gretchen Muchnick serves as the vice president of Marketing at F.C. Tucker Emge Realtors, where she’s worked since 2006, and oversees the company’s marketing and branding efforts, marketing tools for real estate agents and the company’s Information Technology department. Prior to F.C. Tucker, Muchnick began her career with The Proctor & Gamble Company in Cincinnati, Ohio. She holds a Bachelor of Science degree in Industrial Engineering from Purdue University.

E.O. “Pete” Popham, Jr., Secretary – Board appointment 2007
Pete is President of Popham Construction Co., which formed in 1978. He attended Indiana University, and upon graduation, Pete was a high school history teacher in the Indiana Public School system. Additionally, Pete is a private pilot.

Doug Joest, Treasurer – Board appointment 2016
Doug, Executive Director of Evansville Regional Airport, became interested in aviation early in his life. He earned his pilot’s license while attending high school, and he subsequently worked on the airport ramp while completing his BS in Accounting at the University of Southern Indiana.

Prior to his time at EVV, he worked in accounting and finance, including his 13 years at Tri-State Aero as CFO and Business Manager. Doug joined the Evansville Airport team as Financial Manager and Treasurer in 2007, later being named Executive Director. Doug serves on several boards including the Board of Advisors for the Romain College of Business at USI, the Southwest Indiana Chamber of Commerce and the Aviation Association of Indiana, where he serves as president. He is active with the American Association of Airport Executives, the Growth Alliance for Greater Evansville and the EVV Pilots Club.

Alan Leibundguth – Board appointment 2015
Alan is currently self-employed in the oil and gas exploration industry as a registered Landman, Associate Member of the American Association of Professional Landmen and a member of the Indiana Oil and Gas Association and Illinois Oil and Gas Association. He is a graduate of University of Evansville with a Bachelor’s Degree in biology and chemistry, and he received a master's degree in business administration from Oklahoma City University with emphasis on Marketing and Business. Alan is a Veteran of the U.S. Air Force, completing six years in the Air Training Command as a flight line Instructor Pilot and Academic Instructor. His military service also included five years in the Tactical Air Command, where he served in Germany as a Senior Pilot in the F-4E.

Rev. Adrian Brooks – Board appointment 2017
Rev. Brooks has served as the pastor of Memorial Baptist Church since 1993. Under his leadership, the congregation has grown to over 4,500 members, offering more than 50 diverse ministries to Evansville and tristate communities.

Rev. Brooks founded the Memorial Community Development Corp., a 501c3 non-profit organization, which has grown to include a diverse portfolio of expansions, including youth and medical centers and retail and restaurant developments.

Rev. Brooks continues his long history of service on several community and civic boards, including the Better Business Bureau Board of Directors, University of Southern Indiana Business School of Advisors, Southwest Indiana Economic Development Coalition and Board of Governance for the Evansville Promise Zone.

Additionally, he is a life-long recipient of numerous awards and accolades, including the 2015 Indiana State Chairman’s Award, Honorary Judge of Daviess Co., Kentucky, Sagamore of the Wabash Award, Evansville NAACP Outstanding Citizen Award, Leadership Evansville’s Leadership Award and Evansville Rotary Civic Award.

Contact EVV Today

Contact EVV